Atwater High FFA - Home
Atwater High FFA - Home Atwater High FFA - About Us Atwater High FFA - Contact Us
Atwater High FFA Chapter Officers Atwater high FFA Agriculture Courses Atwater High FFA Calendar Atwater High FFA Events - Activities

January 2017
Minarets Parli Pro Contest

Atwater FFA Earns Top Finish at Parli Pro Speaking Contest

Twenty-six novice and advanced parliamentary procedure teams representing high schools throughout California gathered at Minarets High School this past weekend the annual Minarets FFA Parliamentary Procedure Invitational. The Atwater FFA Advanced Parliamentary Procedure team placed 2nd overall with senior Daryl Dorsey earning the Advanced Chairman award. The Atwater FFA Novice Parliamentary Procedure team placed in the middle of the pack. “Today was a pretty good day as this was the first big contest for many competitors,” said FFA advisor Shelby West. “They put forth a tremendous effort and the experience provides us with a foundation to build upon.”

Parliamentary procedure is a set of rules, ethics, and customs governing meetings of clubs, organizations, legislative bodies, and other deliberative assemblies. FFA students throughout California participate in various parliamentary procedure contests where students demonstrate their public speaking, understanding, and implementation of skills.

“This is an opportunity to get students involved in an application that develops and strengthens public speaking, critical thinking, and leadership skills that can be applied towards any academic and career endeavor,” said West.

Atwater High School’s agriculture program continues to grow. “With the growth and expansion of agriculture instructors over the past few years, we have been able to expand opportunities for students outside the classroom in college and career related skills that will serve and benefit their futures,” said agriculture instructor Sam Meredith. “It’s all about providing opportunities for students to enhance their personal growth, academic success, and career development.”

Students who competed on the team included (Advanced) Daryl Dorsey (Outstanding Chair award), Dayana Argueta, Amanjot Gandhoke, Jeff Clark, Courtney Creighton, Callie Norton, Paige Brigham, Natalie Frontella, Alyssa Carrillo, Cristal Venegas, Micheal Bray, Itzel Chavez, Hayley Vargas, Emmanuel Mejia, Stephanie Aguanui, and Vanessa Varela. The team will be heading to the UC Davis Parliamentary Procedure Invitational on March 3rd to compete again with sectional, regional, and state final competition coming up in the coming two months.

Audrey Esau
Atwater FFA Reporter